Is Imposter Syndrome a loop?

Is Imposter Syndrome a loop?

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

What is Imposter Syndrome?

Have you ever doubted your skills whenever you are stuck on any problem which is taking way more time than you thought? Let me put it this way. have you ever felt that people around you are way more knowledgeable than you?

Then my friend that is what you call imposter syndrome which you face at your workplace or while collaborating in a team. The above definition might not be 100% accurate but it is just to simplify for any new budding developer out there.

Why you should read this??

Well, this is a great question but before answering that I would love to introduce myself. Myself Rajat Bhatt. Having 3+ years of experience as a web developer and I myself am a victim of this imposter several times and I know it will continue throughout my career.

Hey, wait if you don't know how to deal with this then why I should listen to you?

See as per my experience in any developer's career everyone faces these issues and there is the only way to deal with this is to just let it settle down. That's why for me this is like a loop.

if (newResponsibilities === true) {
  console.log("Imposter Syndrome")
}

See I told you I have some experience in this field and every time when I was expected to do something new or I was given any new project this happens to me every time and what I do to overcome this feeling I try to communicate with others try to have a conversation with my colleague or friend just to make my mind calmer and just to increase focus on my capabilities. See being a developer is really stressful sometimes but that is the fun of this profession that you need to upgrade yourself every now and then.

So my last advice is that don't feel guilty just focus on the things you do better. Upscale every now and then and try to cope with all the trending news on the new technologies.

Hope this article helps you in any way. Thanks for reading this.